Driftlog › Compare travel trackers › Private, no account
Six travel trackers carry the App Store privacy label Data Not Collected: Driftlog, Rond, Mapsake, Photo Map, Fog of World and OwnTracks. Five say in their App Store descriptions that they need no account: Driftlog, Mapsake, Rond, Fog of World and Arc Timeline 4. That is from the twenty apps I compared on 4 October 2026.
Where I stand. I make Driftlog, one of the apps on this page, so weigh what follows accordingly. I have tried to say where the other apps are the better choice.
The account and storage columns are what each app's own US App Store description says. Where a description says nothing, the cell says so.
| App | How it records | Account | Where the data is kept | App Store privacy label | Android |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Driftlog (mine) | Countries, regions, cities and dates, in the background. No routes | None | On the phone. No developer server | Data Not Collected | Yes |
| Rond | The places you visit, in the background, as a timeline and journal | No sign-in required | Its description says all processing and storage happen on your device | Data Not Collected | No listing found |
| Mapsake | Countries, cities and airports found in your photo library | None | Its description says photo dates and locations are processed on your device | Data Not Collected | No listing found |
| Fog of World | Your tracks, in the background | None | Its description says your data is saved on your device. Sync goes to your own iCloud, Dropbox or OneDrive | Data Not Collected | Yes |
| Arc Timeline 4 | Where you go and how you get there, in the background | None | Its description says all data is stored on your device, with an optional backup to your own iCloud | Data Not Linked to You | No listing found |
| OwnTracks | An open-source location logger | Not stated | Its documentation says you provide the server it reports to | Data Not Collected | Yes |
| Photo Map | Scans your photo library and groups photos into trips | Not stated | Not stated | Data Not Collected | No listing found |
| Apple Maps Visited Places | Places you stopped at. iOS 26 and later, 32 countries and regions | Not stated in Apple's guide | Your synced devices. Apple says it is end-to-end encrypted and that it cannot read it | Built in | No |
| Google Maps Timeline | Visits and routes, once you turn it on | Your Google Account | Each signed-in device, with an optional encrypted backup on Google's servers | Built in | Yes |
The table scrolls sideways on a phone.
Trip journals such as Polarsteps, FindPenguins and Journi are made for sharing a trip with other people, and their labels list data linked to you. Among the manual maps, Stampie and Mark O'Travel list only data not linked to you; been, Pin Traveler, Skratch, Places Been and Countries Been list data used to track you. Countries Been lets you continue as a guest. The full column is in the comparison table.
See Driftlog on the App Store See it on Google Play
Five say so in their US App Store descriptions: Driftlog, Mapsake, Rond, Fog of World and Arc Timeline 4. Countries Been lets you continue as a guest. Most other descriptions do not say either way.
By their own App Store descriptions: Driftlog keeps records on the phone with no server, Rond says all processing and storage happen on your device, Fog of World says your data is saved on your device, and Arc Timeline 4 says all data is stored on your device with an optional iCloud backup.
It is a privacy label the developer declares, shown under App Privacy on the store page. It means the developer says it collects no data from the app. Apple displays the label but does not audit it.
Of the twenty I compared on 4 October 2026, six: Driftlog, Rond, Mapsake, Photo Map, Fog of World and OwnTracks.
Two things: a coordinate sent to the map service to look up a place name, and a city name you type when adding a trip by hand. Your travel history and your photos are not sent anywhere, and there is no account.
Since Google moved Timeline onto the phone, visits and routes are saved on each signed-in device, and a backup, if you turn it on, is an encrypted copy on Google's servers. It still needs a Google Account.
Apple says Visited Places are end-to-end encrypted and cannot be read by Apple. The feature needs iOS 26 or later and is offered in 32 countries and regions.
How this page was made. I make Driftlog, one of the apps on this page. Prices, privacy labels and ratings were read from each app's own US App Store page on 4 October 2026, and Android availability from Google Play. I have not tested every app here; what I say about other people's apps is what their store pages say. A store page shows at most ten in-app purchases, and prices change, so follow the link before you decide. Nobody paid to be on this page. If something is wrong or out of date, email me at shiori.sutudio@gmail.com and I will fix it. The full table of twenty apps is on the comparison page.